After customizing (Adding or removing menu items) User defined menu, when the user logs out and log-in, the customization is lost.
To save the User defined menu customization, first log in as a ROLE.
Make the necessary changes to the User defined menu. Save and Log out.
This will give the new custom menu for all the users in that role.